How WhatsApp 5 privacy features you should

In terms of features, WhatsApp has left unchanged. The Facebook-owned company is actively adding a set of features on a monthly basis and retains the level of simplicity.

WhatsApp recently added some useful features to the Android and iOS apps. These include WhatsApp call waiting, text reminders, group call systems and more.

Furthermore, we already know that WhatsApp messages are encrypted end-to-end. But are you aware of WhatsApp’s most important privacy feature? Read on to find out more about this.

WhatsApp fingerprint lock

To provide users with an extra layer of security, WhatsApp has added a fingerprint lock feature to its Android app. Note that this security feature was first released on iOS with Touch ID and Face ID support.

To enable it in WhatsApp, go to Settings -> Accounts -> Privacy -> Fingerprint Lock. If you enable the WhatsApp lock feature, you will need to approve the fingerprint stored on the operating system.

The feature automatically comes with three options of “App Lock”.

It’s worth noting that the WhatsApp fingerprint lock feature does not prevent calls, and only hides messages. This feature allows users to enable or disable preview of message context.

Hide received media files

WhatsApp allows users to hide photos, videos and even audio files found in WhatsApp in the device’s default gallery. This feature allows you to do this for both individual and group chats.

The feature can be accessed by going to the contact information page and then clicking on the “View Media” option. You’re here to show media from chat in your gallery, with the option to choose between Yes and Default.

You can choose the basis for one of your choices. The default option is the preset to show media files in the gallery. You can do the same for group chats.

While this is not a huge feature, it will still help reduce the noise caused by a huge collection of unwanted photos shared by a WhatsApp group or by a separate friend.

How To Block WhatsApp Contacts

WhatsApp users can block (or even report) their contact or unknown number. After the user is banned, you will not receive any messages or calls from him.

The process of blocking someone in WhatsApp is very simple. All you need to do for this user is open the chat window, then tap the three-dot menu in the top right corner.

Click “More”, and choose the blocking option. You can find the unblock option in the Application Settings section> Accounts> Privacy> Blocked contacts.

Individually, WhatsApp soon displays a short notice in the user’s chat information window.

This notice will notify the user when he or she blocks or blocks a particular contact. The report indicates that this notice will be visible only to users who are blocking another contact.

Group calling system

The messaging platform has recently added the group invitation system added. This privacy option allows users to control who can add to groups.

The second option means that your friends in your address book can add you to groups. The third element provides additional control over how your contacts can add you to a group.

In this case, an administrator who cannot add you to a group will be asked to send a private invitation via private chat.

Privacy status

Finally, WhatsApp provides you with a section dedicated to similar situations in the “story” instrument. The company has also added a status privacy menu, where you’ll find three options.

The “My Contacts” option means that only your contacts are able to check the status of your WhatsApp.

The second option on the “My Contacts” list is obvious. The last one is “Share Only”, which means you can share your status with a select few friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *